Pineapple Glazed Ham


For Christmas Eve 2016, I attempted to make my first ever Filipino Style pineapple glazed ham.  I found a good small portion ham in Costco, probably about 2 pounds and I bought it for only $10.  I scoured the internet for classic Filipino style recipes and found Skiptomalou.net

I liked her recipe so I followed her step by step instructions on how to marinade my pre-cooked ham in pineapple juice, sprite, beer and some bay leaf.  After simmering for 30 minutes, I let the ham soak into the marinade overnight.  The next day, I removed the ham and cooked the leftover marinade to reduce for glazing.  I added sugar, some salt and a tablespoon of butter. When it was all reduced to about one cup, I prepped my ham by rubbing it with brown sugar then I brushed some of the glaze, I arranged some pineapple slices on the the ham using cloves to put them in place and baked the ham for 30 minutes in a 350 deg. Fahrenheit pre-heated oven. 

It turned out so good that my family and some after Christmas visitors really liked it.  Perfect with the Filipino quezo de bola and some hot pandesal.  

For New Year’s Eve, I made another one but this time I did not put pineapple slices on the ham. After cooking, I sliced the ham thinly and put it in the refrigerator.  My family enjoyed preparing their ham sandwiches using my homemade pineapple glazed ham slices.

This is not just a Holiday ham.  This recipe can be enjoyed anytime of the year, for any occasion even for daily school lunch box for the children.

Leave a Reply

