Overnight Oats with RED BEANS (adzuki) 

I am betting that there are a lot of overnight oat recipes online.  I actually learned to make this by watching YouTube videos of people sharing different ways to make overnight oats.

I was inspired to make this in order to serve a quick morning meal to our children while my husband and I enjoy drinking our coffee.

Both my children love oats (specially my 4-year-old), that is why I worked with an ingredient that they love to eat for breakfast.  Since we do not really eat cereal at home because it’s too sweet, this jarred overnight oats worked really well for us.

As you can see, the simple ingredients I used are Old Fashioned Oats, unsweetened almond milk, greek yogurt (flavored or plain), chia seeds and agave nectar.

Using a small mason jar, I just put around 3-4 tbsp. of oats, add in a little bit of almond milk around 1/4 cup, 1 tbsp. of chia seeds, and mix some greek yogurt of our choice.  I cover the mason jar and shake it  to saturate the oats with the goodness of the greek yogurt and milk, then place it in the refrigerator overnight.  In the morning, each one of us mix in whatever extra ingredient we want such as honey or agave nectar or nothing sweet at all, some berries, nuts and fresh fruits but this blog is all about our new discovery.  I bought sweetened red beans (japanese adzuki beans) from an Asian store and because it’s already sweet, we just mix in a tablespoon or two with our overnight oats and it’s heaven in a mason jar!!!  You should try it!

If you love sweetened red beans like my daughter does, this is really a treat.

 


  

One thought on “Overnight Oats with RED BEANS (adzuki) 

Leave a Reply

