Okonomiyaki (Japanese savory pancake)

 

Another way to make my children eat vegetable is by making vegetable pancakes where I chop and mix all kinds of veggies into a pancake a mix and serve it with sauce to make it more appetizing.  In my older posts, I have shared my recipe of the Korean Pancake, my children’s ultimate favorite vegetable dish.

This time, I made Okonomiyaki, the Japanese way of cooking savory vegetable pancake.  I used yam flour, wheat flour and eggs for the batter.  The main ingredient is thinly shredded cabbage leaves, then I added fried tempura batter for texture and some chopped scallions.  After grilling the pancake on a non-stick pan, I topped the pancake with aonori (seaweed flakes), bacon (optional), katsuobushi (bonito flakes) and some Japanese mayonnaise.

It was another hit!  My kids love it ♥

5 thoughts on “Okonomiyaki (Japanese savory pancake)

  1. sorry, didn’t have time to open my yahoo and fb….. taste so good … you are learning alot with the japanese food

    Like

Leave a Reply

