Bento School Lunch

Bento is a Japanese style home-packed complete meal which typically holds rice, fish or meat, pickled or steamed vegetables and some fruits.  Bento is an art and to me it’s a meal I make from my heart to nourish my children’s body and express my love for them by creating simple, satisfying and healthy packed bento lunch. I have tons of bento accessories but I am not an expert like others.  I mix bento making with my American-style lunch box and jarred salads or fruits.  It makes eating more fun and I enjoy hearing stories from my children about how much fun they enjoyed eating their lunch at school. Bento box is easy, just make sure you have simple portioned left-overs or ingredients that can be pre-cooked and stored in the freezer then warmed up before bento assembly.  Bento can even be prepared the night before because the goal of preparing bento is to serve food at room temperature using ingredients that can hold itself fresh until ready to eat within a day.

Whole-wheat flat bread ham & cheese sandwich, Persian cucumbers, Mr. & Mrs. banana, cherry tomatoes and biscotti for desert
Whole-wheat flat bread ham & cheese sandwich, Persian cucumbers, Mr. & Mrs. banana, cherry tomatoes and biscotti for desert
Bento accessory I purchased on Amazon to make fun and cute sandwiches for my kids
Bento accessory I purchased on Amazon to make fun and cute sandwiches for my kids
Big Sister Bento.  I prepared this bento for my elder daughter for school lunch. It includes Paleo turkey avocado wrap, Berkshire sausages, star-boiled egg, baby carrots, sliced kiwi and banana
Big Sister Bento. I prepared this bento for my elder daughter for school lunch. It includes Paleo turkey avocado wrap, Berkshire sausages, star-boiled egg, baby carrots, sliced kiwi and banana
Little Sister Bento - after making the bigger version, I have some left-overs, I made this smaller bento version for my little one.  This one has a heart-boiled egg.
Little Sister Bento – after making the bigger version, I have some left-overs, I made this smaller bento version for my little one. This one has a heart-boiled egg.
Another bento accessory, I bought it for $1.50, it turns the sausages into cute animals
Another bento accessory, I bought it for $1.50, it turns the sausages into cute animals
Bear rice balls (onigiri) filled with grilled salmon (left-over from dinner last night), Japanese fried chicken (Karaage), cherry tomatoes, and Hello Kitty Jello for desert
Bear rice balls (onigiri) filled with grilled salmon (left-over from dinner last night), Japanese fried chicken (Karaage), cherry tomatoes, and Hello Kitty Jello for desert
Bear rice balls (onigiri) filled with grilled salmon (left-over from dinner last night), Japanese fried chicken (Karaage), cherry tomatoes, and Hello Kitty Jello for desert
Bear rice balls (onigiri) filled with grilled salmon (left-over from dinner last night), Japanese fried chicken (Karaage), cherry tomatoes, and Hello Kitty Jello for desert
Leave a Reply

