Homemade sugar-free Almond Shortbread cookies


 

I am an amateur when it comes to baking but I always want to try new things.  Today, my eldest daughter home and is still on spring break.  I thought it would be fun to make cookies with her so we can spend time together in my kitchen while creating fun time memories teaching her how to bake this very easy sugar-free recipe I learned from looking up different recipes online.  Here’s how I made my own version:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups sifted All-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup Splenda (for baking)
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 2 sticks of unsalted Butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup raw whole Almonds
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract

First, sift the flour and salt into a bowl.  Then, using a coffee grinder (I use mine to grind rice for porridge for my baby) on percolator settings, grind the toasted almonds.  In a big mixing bowl, start creaming the butter, sugar substitute and vanilla until creamy and fluffy.

Slowly add the sifted dry ingredients into the creamed butter mixture.  Towards the end, add the ground almonds.  The dough will be  ready after everything is mixed well.  Wrap the dough in a plastic wrap and chill in the freezer for 10 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

When dough is firm, roll it out about 1/4 inches thick onto a floured surface.  You may create any shape that you like using a cookie cutter.  Half of my dough, I made round drops of cookies then we put some sugar-free jam into the center of the cookie.  My daughter made her own cookie shapes (hearts, stars and weird shapes I can’t even explain).

Before baking, place the shaped cookie dough in the freezer for another 5 minutes to make sure it retains its shape while baking.

Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes or until light brown.  Mine took about 18-20 minutes because I used a Silpat mat on my cookie sheet.  You may use parchment paper to line your cookie sheet as well.

Cool in wire rack.

TOASTING RAW ALMONDS:  Place the raw nuts on a baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes under 350 degrees fahrenheit.

It’s crumbly and creamy and not too sweet.  We love it!

One thought on “Homemade sugar-free Almond Shortbread cookies

Leave a Reply

