Igname Patbingsu (Purple Yam Patbingsoo)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Summer is the season I am not so excited about. Not only because of the heat, but because of the yearly wild fires in California.  What makes summer fun and exciting?  Creating and whipping up refreshing meals and desserts to cool down my family on a very hot and windy summer day.

Patbingsu is a famous Korean snack/dessert served with shaved-ice, mixed fresh fruits, some rice cakes, sweetened azuki beans (known as “Pat”) and frozen yogurt or ice cream. 

Living in a community that doesn’t have any Filipino restaurants, I sometimes crave for my childhood favorite summer treat, Pinoy Halo-Halo (translated to English as Mix-Mix).  Patbingsu is the closest I could find that is similar to Halo-Halo.

I wanted to create something that I could call my own so instead of putting frozen yogurt or green tea ice cream, I tried Igname (purple yam) ice cream and it turned out great! purple yam (or Ube in tagalog) ice cream is a very famous ice cream flavor for Filipinos and I remember eating this as I was growing up.  Buying from street vendors known as “mamang sorbetero.”  I always ask for the purple yam flavor and the classic cheese ice cream.

I first heard about Patbingsu from a friend who is married to a Korean and she always goes to a korean market who sells Patbingsu.  My first taste of this dessert did not really give me too much excitement but that was because the seller’s version wasn’t that good.  When I tasted another kind of Patbingsu with a good quality frozen yogurt on top, I really started to like it. 🙂

Luckily, I live close to a Korean Market so I have all my ingredients easily available.  It’s very easy to make:

INGREDIENTS:

  • Fresh strawberries (sliced or diced)
  • Golden kiwi (sliced or diced)
  • Canned sweetened Azuki beans
  • Fresh melon (diced into small pieces)
  • Cold seedless watermelon (diced into small pieces)
  • Shaved-ice
  • Sweetened condensed milk
  • Small pieces of tteok (rice cakes)
  • Bananas (optional)
  • Corn flake cereal (optional)
  • Purple Yam ice cream (available in your local Chinese/Filipino supermarket)

To assemble, start dicing and slicing the fresh fruits.   Shave some ice to cover about 1/3 of a bowl or cup.  Top the shaved ice with the fruits, tteok, corn flakes and azuki beans. Pour a little bit of condensed milk according to sweetness that you desire.  Then finally,  put one scoop of purple yam ice cream.

Enjoy and stay cool!!!!! 🙂

One thought on “Igname Patbingsu (Purple Yam Patbingsoo)

Leave a Reply

