Philippine Tamarind Pork Soup (“American Sinigang”)


Philippine tamarind pork soup.
Originally uploaded by doyd74

Today, I want to share this all-time family favorite dish. Sinigang (as how we call it in Filipino) is a Philippine soup characterized by it’s sour flavor. To me it is somehow similar to Thai’s tom yam soup.

All the children in our family, both father and mother-side loves this soup. If we want the kids to eat a lot for dinner or lunch, just cook Sinigang 🙂

Here’s how to make it:

1 pound of Pork (short ribs, neckbone, belly, shoulder or even tenderloin)
1 large Tomato
1 medium Daikon (you can use Korean daikon too)
1 bunch or pack of Spinach
4-5 pieces of Taro corms (Gabi)
1 pack of Sinigang mix (can be purchased at a local Chinese/Filipino supermarket)
1 teaspoon of Fish Sauce

Cut/chop the pork into large bite sizes. Wash it well.
Boil 8-10 cups of water. Upon boiling, add the pork. Let it simmer for a few minutes. Remove all the pork scum or brown bubbles that forms on top of the soup making sure nothing’s left.

Add the tomatoes, sinigang mix and gabi. Reduce the fire to medium and cover the pot. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes.

Once the pork is tender, add the daikon and fish sauce. When daikon is cooked according to how you want it to be, you may add the spinach and simmer for another minute or two.

I call this my American Sinigang because I make it using the ingredients we have here in America. Originally, when I was small, my Dad would use pork neckbones and he would simmer it until the soup really tastes so good. Then he added water spinach (“kang-kong”) or yardlong beans/chinese string beans (“sitaw”), sometimes even eggplants and okra.

Most Filipinos like to cook Sinigang with a piece of green finger pepper. Here in the US, I use Korean green chili or anaheim peppers to enhance the taste while adding a little kick of spice to the soup.

Sinigang… a best-loved dish from my kitchen. Try it!!

8 thoughts on “Philippine Tamarind Pork Soup (“American Sinigang”)

  1. This dish reminds of the sotanghon at the Quinta Market in Quiapo. During my younger years, Uncle Mon and myself went for a short tour (walking around) at Plaza Miranda and the Lawton vicinity and ended up at the Quinta Market. Once inside you will find a variety of home cooked meals “carinderia style” and this recipe of yours reminded me of the simple and creative ways to work with various styles in preparing noodles. By the way, you have to make this on my next trip down Irvine tol.

    Like

    1. Hi! I believe you were referring to my Japchae recipe ;-). Thanks for taking time to visit my blog Kuya… Will you be my regular blog reader or fan? Hahaha!!!!

      Like

  2. Hi dear Joyce, wow you have made such a real website. I just surprising WOW and WOW! Korean food looks so yummy and those pictures of cooking recipe are beautiful, I think I can cook some with your recipe!!

    Jade is posing like model, and she has always special smile, Thank you for sharing all this!!

    Love,
    Your Japanese Friend – Keiko

    Like

Leave a Reply

