Standard: SUPERMOON 2012 lighted Irvine’s night sky

At exactly 8:09PM, I finished putting our children to bed. I ran to my husband telling him I needed to go out and drive around to take a few shots of the Super Moon that’s expected to be at it’s brightest and biggest this year (2012) at exactly 8:34PM Pacific Standard Time.

I grabbed my Nikomat film camera and made sure I had all my accessories with me to help guarantee a good shot of the beautiful moon tonight. I also brought my DSLR camera to be certain that I can take a few digital shots and bring home proof to my husband of this gorgeous display of tonight’s clear skies.

To make a long story short (because I am posting this and writing this at exactly 9:29PM, I just got home and am too excited)… here’s a sample of my shot.

SUPER MOON

Lens: AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

Date/Time: 5/5/2012 8:35:40PM PDT

Focal length (35mm): 232.0mm

ISO 160 f/11 1/100 155mm

I wish my family had gone with me. I would’ve taken a much beautiful view of the moon from where I drove around the dark corners of Irvine. Security was my priority and I didn’t want to be along a dark street by myself.

There’s always a next year :)

Hope you like my composition!

5 thoughts on “Standard: SUPERMOON 2012 lighted Irvine’s night sky

  1. Awesome shot tol. I saw this moon while we were in a party at a friend’s house in Dublin. I only have my Nikon with me without a tripod so I didn’t even bother to attempt photographing it. It was awesome though. Your shot just made it more sweeter with a foreground of some tree branches. Great eye!

Leave a Reply

